Members Area

Manny guest speaker in Elorde Awards

No Comments

Boxing icon Manny Pacquiao will be the guest of honor and speaker as he joins 2011 world, international and regional champions in the 12th Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards/Banquet of Champions tomorrow at the Dusit Thani Hotel.
Pacquiao, the pound for pound king who held titles in a record eight divisions, will receive a special award – A Man for Others – for his humanitarian efforts outside the ring.
The current WBO welterweight champion, who defended his title twice in 2011 – against Sugar Shane Mosley in May and against Juan Manuel Marquez in November – will lead an elite roster of 2011 world champions that include WBC/WBO bantamweight ruler Nonito Donaire, WBO flyweight king Brian Viloria, WBO light flyweight champion Donnie Nietes and WBO female super bantamweight queen Ana Julaton.
“It is just proper that we also give recognition to his program of alleviating poverty which is a mark of a true champion,” said Da Flash’s wife Laura, who is presenting the event in cooperation with Cobra Energy Drink, PCSO, Smart, Colgate, Sanicare, Procter & Gamble and Rep. Mark Aeron Sambar of the Pwersa ng Bayaning Atleta party list.
Pacquiao is expected to deliver an inspirational message to his fellow boxers, among whom are 19 Philippine champions and 46 international and regional titleholders.
“The Banquet of Champions will not be complete without him,” said the wife of Elorde, who reigned as world junior lightweight champion from 1960 to 1967 and was the first Asian to be inducted to the prestigious International Boxing Hall of Fame in 1993.
Spicing up the Banquet of Champions are live boxing matches starting at 4:30 p.m.
A double Philippine championship fight presented by promoter Johnny Elorde features Dennis Laurente who will defend his Philippine welterweight crown against Eusebio Baluarte and brother Monico Laurete who will fight Rey Las Pinas for the vacant Philippine bantamweight crown.
Three more fights will complete the boxing card with WBC International light flyweight champion Jonathan Taconing also appearing in a tune-up fight against Samuel Apuya.
Others to be honored in the rites held on the occasion of the 77th birth anniversary of Da Flash are Michael Aldeguer of the ALA Boxing Gym (best promoter), the brothers tandem of Edito and Edmond Villamor (best trainer), Atty. Danrex Tapdasan (best referee) and Rey Danseco (best judge).
The most promising boxer award will be presented to WBC international super flyweight champion Silvestre Lopez while the best fight of the year goes to Froilan Saludar and Gabriel Pumar who fought for the WBO Asia-Pacific flyweight championship.
Citations will be given to boxing commentators and analysts Dyan Castillejo and Chino Trinidad, and a special citation to the Rotary Club of Manila 101.

Special awards will go to Mayor John Bongat of Naga City and Mayor Geraldine Rosal of Legaspi City.
Cobra Energy Drink will also be honored for its support to the Banquet of Champions.

No Comments

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Your Ad Here